Musings of a fandom geek

Sometimes, you’ve just got to say “The laws of time and space? Who gives a smeg?”

Titan releases Star Trek Comic!

Posted by Michael Warren on May 10, 2009

stcomic

So, today’s Sunday Mirror (a newspaper I would ordinarily go nowhere near) had a free special edition of Star Trek Magazine from Titan Magazines. A 16-page “taster” issue, including what I imagine are interviews from the real issue 145, the Movie Souvenir Special.

However, the major surprise came on the back cover. As well as the advertisment for Star Trek Magazine, the back cover includes the first announcement of Star Trek Comic, a new release from Titan! This is the first I’ve heard of this release – and it is a bit of a surprise.

The bumper first issue is apparently out now (although I didn’t spot it anywhere after looking around for Trek merchandise on Friday afternoon after the film), and is 68 pages (I presume future issues will be 32 pages or similar). The issue features the first two issues of the film prequel Countdown, as well as various other features, and film stickers. Obviously, it is intended for a younger audience, but I shall be picking it up as soon as I locate it!

This appears to be a UK-only release, as Titan’s US website has no comics section.

More information can be found at Titan’s official website here.

Leave a comment