Musings of a fandom geek

Sometimes, you’ve just got to say “The laws of time and space? Who gives a smeg?”

A little rarity…

Posted by Michael Warren on February 14, 2009

As I was browsing through the Star Trek Magazine Archives (preview; review), I discovered something I’d been trying to get my hands on for quite some time.

When Season 4 of Deep Space Nine premiered on video, a special piece of artwork was commissioned for “The Way of the Warrior“. This artwork appeared on the cover and inside gatefold of CIC Video‘s volume 4.1. It was also used to advertise the new release. A little while back, I wanted to try and track the artwork down. I knew there was a copy of it on the back cover of one of the older Star Trek Monthly issues, but, as I have mentioned previously, those are currently several hundred miles away.

Of course, with the new CD-ROM archive, that was no longer the case. And I was delighted when I discovered that the archives included the back covers as well as the main content. And that the issue I was looking for was in the first volume.

So, I present to you a little gem – the promotional artwork for “The Way of the Warrior”, as printed on the back cover of Star Trek Monthly issue 12:

wayofthewarriorpromo_small

 

One of the things I would really like to know is who actually drew the image, and whether it was used to promote the episode in the States.

I have also made two wallpaper-sized versions for you to download and enjoy!

Downloads

One Response to “A little rarity…”

  1. This is fucking awesome. Thanks so much for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

 
